Date Opponents Type Res/KO Venue
Sat 19 Aug 1989 Watford League L 0-1 Vicarage Road
Wed 23 Aug 1989 Bristol Rovers League Cup L 0-1 Twerton Park
Sat 26 Aug 1989 STOKE CITY League D 0-0 Fratton Park
Tue 29 Aug 1989 BRISTOL ROVERS League Cup W 2-0* Fratton Park
Sat 02 Sep 1989 Bradford City League D 1-1 Valley Parade
Sat 09 Sep 1989 HULL CITY League D 2-2 Fratton Park
Tue 12 Sep 1989 PLYMOUTH ARGYLE League L 0-3 Fratton Park
Sat 16 Sep 1989 Newcastle United League L 0-1 St. James Park
Wed 20 Sep 1989 MANCHESTER UNITED League Cup L 2-3 Fratton Park
Sat 23 Sep 1989 MIDDLESBROUGH League W 3-1 Fratton Park
Tue 26 Sep 1989 WEST HAM UNITED League L 0-1 Fratton Park
Sat 30 Sep 1989 Wolverhampton Wanderers League L 0-5 Molineux
Tue 03 Oct 1989 Manchester United League Cup D 0-0** Old Trafford
Sat 07 Oct 1989 Oxford United League L 1-2 Manor Ground
Sat 14 Oct 1989 BLACKBURN ROVERS League D 1-1 Fratton Park
Tue 17 Oct 1989 LEEDS UNITED League D 3-3 Fratton Park
Sat 21 Oct 1989 AFC Bournemouth League W 1-0 Dean Court
Sat 28 Oct 1989 IPSWICH TOWN League L 2-3 Fratton Park
Tue 31 Oct 1989 Sheffield United League L 1-2 Bramall Lane
Sat 04 Nov 1989 Barnsley League W 1-0 Oakwell
Sat 11 Nov 1989 PORT VALE League W 2-0 Fratton Park
Sat 18 Nov 1989 WEST BROMWICH ALBION League D 1-1 Fratton Park
Sun 26 Nov 1989 Swindon Town League D 2-2 County Ground
Sat 02 Dec 1989 WATFORD League L 1-2 Fratton Park
Sun 10 Dec 1989 Plymouth Argyle League W 2-0 Home Park
Sat 16 Dec 1989 SUNDERLAND League D 3-3 Fratton Park
Tue 26 Dec 1989 Brighton & Hove Albion League D 0-0 Goldstone Ground
Sat 30 Dec 1989 Oldham Athletic League D 3-3 Boundary Park
Mon 01 Jan 1990 LEICESTER CITY League L 2-3 Fratton Park
Sat 06 Jan 1990 Crystal Palace F.A. Cup L 1-2 Selhurst Park
Sat 13 Jan 1990 Stoke City League W 2-1 Victoria Ground
Sat 20 Jan 1990 BRADFORD CITY League W 3-0 Fratton Park
Sat 03 Feb 1990 Middlesbrough League L 0-2 Ayresome Park
Sat 10 Feb 1990 NEWCASTLE UNITED League D 1-1 Fratton Park
Sat 17 Feb 1990 Hull City League W 2-1 Boothferry Park
Sat 24 Feb 1990 SWINDON TOWN League D 1-1 Fratton Park
Sat 03 Mar 1990 West Bromwich Albion League D 0-0 The Hawthorns
Tue 06 Mar 1990 WOLVERHAMPTON WANDERERS League L 1-3 Fratton Park
Sat 10 Mar 1990 West Ham United League L 1-2 Boleyn Ground
Sat 17 Mar 1990 OXFORD UNITED League W 2-1 Fratton Park
Tue 20 Mar 1990 Blackburn Rovers League L 0-2 Ewood Park
Sat 24 Mar 1990 Leeds United League L 0-2 Elland Road
Sat 31 Mar 1990 AFC BOURNEMOUTH League W 2-1 Fratton Park
Sat 07 Apr 1990 SHEFFIELD UNITED League W 3-2 Fratton Park
Tue 10 Apr 1990 Ipswich Town League W 1-0 Portman Road
Sat 14 Apr 1990 Leicester City League D 1-1 Filbert Street
Mon 16 Apr 1990 BRIGHTON & HOVE ALBION League W 3-0 Fratton Park
Sat 21 Apr 1990 Sunderland League D 2-2 Roker Park
Tue 24 Apr 1990 OLDHAM ATHLETIC League W 2-1 Fratton Park
Sat 28 Apr 1990 Port Vale League D 1-1 Vale Park
Sat 05 May 1990 BARNSLEY League W 2-1 Fratton Park

* Portsmouth won 2-1 on aggregate
** Manchester United won 3-2 on aggregate