Date Opponents Comp Res Venue
Sat 17 Aug 1991 Blackburn Rovers League D 1-1 Ewood Park
Tue 20 Aug 1991 GILLINGHAM League Cup W 2-1 Fratton Park
Sat 24 Aug 1991 PORT VALE League W 1-0 Fratton Park
Tue 27 Aug 1991 Gillingham League Cup W 4-3* Priestfield
Sat 31 Aug 1991 Middlesbrough League L 0-2 Ayresome Park
Tue 03 Sep 1991 SUNDERLAND League W 1-0 Fratton Park
Sat 07 Sep 1991 BRIGHTON & HOVE ALBION League D 0-0 Fratton Park
Sat 14 Sep 1991 Charlton Athletic League L 0-3 Boleyn Ground
Tue 17 Sep 1991 Grimsby Town League D 1-1 Blundell Park
Sat 21 Sep 1991 CAMBRIDGE UNITED League W 3-0 Fratton Park
Tue 24 Sep 1991 OXFORD UNITED League Cup D 0-0 Fratton Park
Sat 28 Sep 1991 Bristol City League W 2-0 Ashton Gate
Sat 05 Oct 1991 NEWCASTLE UNITED League W 3-1 Fratton Park
Wed 09 Oct 1991 Oxford United League Cup W 1-0 # Manor Ground
Sat 12 Oct 1991 Barnsley League L 0-2 Oakwell
Sat 19 Oct 1991 Derby County League L 0-2 Baseball Ground
Sat 26 Oct 1991 IPSWICH TOWN League D 1-1 Fratton Park
Wed 30 Oct 1991 Manchester United League Cup L 1-3 Old Trafford
Sat 02 Nov 1991 Millwall League D 1-1 The Den (old)
Tue 05 Nov 1991 LEICESTER CITY League W 1-0 Fratton Park
Sat 09 Nov 1991 OXFORD UNITED League W 2-1 Fratton Park
Sat 16 Nov 1991 Swindon Town League W 3-2 County Ground
Sat 23 Nov 1991 Watford League L 1-2 Vicarage Road
Sat 30 Nov 1991 WOLVERHAMPTON WANDERERS League W 1-0 Fratton Park
Sat 14 Dec 1991 SOUTHEND UNITED League D 1-1 Fratton Park
Sat 21 Dec 1991 Sunderland League L 0-1 Roker Park
Thu 26 Dec 1991 BRISTOL ROVERS League W 2-0 Fratton Park
Sat 28 Dec 1991 MIDDLESBROUGH League W 4-0 Fratton Park
Wed 01 Jan 1992 Plymouth Argyle League L 2-3 Home Park
Sat 04 Jan 1992 Exeter City F.A. Cup W 2-1 St. James Park
Sat 11 Jan 1992 Port Vale League W 2-0 Vale Park
Sat 18 Jan 1992 BLACKBURN ROVERS League D 2-2 Fratton Park
Sat 25 Jan 1992 LEYTON ORIENT F.A. Cup W 2-0 Fratton Park
Wed 29 Jan 1992 Bristol Rovers League L 0-1 Twerton Park
Sat 01 Feb 1992 DERBY COUNTY League L 0-1 Fratton Park
Tue 04 Feb 1992 PLYMOUTH ARGYLE League W 4-1 Fratton Park
Sat 08 Feb 1992 Ipswich Town League L 2-5 Portman Road
Sat 15 Feb 1992 MIDDLESBROUGH F.A. Cup D 1-1 Fratton Park
Sat 22 Feb 1992 Wolverhampton Wanderers League D 0-0 Molineux
Wed 26 Feb 1992 Middlesbrough F.A. Cup W 4-2 Ayresome Park
Sat 29 Feb 1992 TRANMERE ROVERS League W 2-0 Fratton Park
Sat 07 Mar 1992 NOTTINGHAM FOREST F.A. Cup W 1-0 Fratton Park
Wed 11 Mar 1992 Leicester City League D 2-2 Filbert Street
Sat 14 Mar 1992 MILLWALL League W 6-1 Fratton Park
Tue 17 Mar 1992 Southend United League W 3-2 Roots Hall
Sat 21 Mar 1992 Oxford United League L 1-2 Manor Ground
Sat 28 Mar 1992 SWINDON TOWN League D 1-1 Fratton Park
Tue 31 Mar 1992 CHARLTON ATHLETIC League L 1-2 Fratton Park
Sun 05 Apr 1992 Liverpool F.A. Cup D 1-1** Highbury
Tue 07 Apr 1992 Tranmere Rovers League L 0-2 Prenton Park
Sat 11 Apr 1992 GRIMSBY TOWN League W 2-0 Fratton Park
Mon 13 Apr 1992 Liverpool F.A. Cup D 0-0*** Villa Park
Fri 17 Apr 1992 Cambridge United League D 2-2 Abbey Stadium
Mon 20 Apr 1992 BRISTOL CITY League W 1-0 Fratton Park
Wed 22 Apr 1992 WATFORD League D 0-0 Fratton Park
Sat 25 Apr 1992 Newcastle United League L 0-1 St. James Park
Wed 29 Apr 1992 Brighton & Hove Albion League L 1-2 Goldstone Ground
Sat 02 May 1992 BARNSLEY League W 2-0 Fratton Park

# Portsmouth won 1-0 on aggregate
* Portsmouth won 6-4 on aggregate
** after extra time, 90 minutes 0-0; played at Highbury
*** after extra time, 90 minutes 0-0, Liverpool won 3-1 on penalties; played at Villa Park